Saturday, June 21, 2014

Alta is 3!

Yesterday, June 20, Alta turned three. I can't believe how fast the past three years have gone. She is incredibly smart. She can run super fast, talk super fast, throw the world's biggest tantrums, give the world's biggest hugs, ride her tricycle, swing on her own, and a million other things. The best thing about her is her loving heart, she is a true nurturer and love to mother things. She likes to help whenever she can, except when it comes to picking up her stuff. She loves her big brothers and her little sister and calls them her best friends. She also has a neighbor girl that she calls her best friend. She loves dresses and having her hair "like a princess". She loves bath time but hates having her hair washed.

Her party, was of course, Cinderella themed, she loves her "Cinderelly" and thinks that she is Cinderella. We celebrated on Tuesday since Sam had to work yesterday. She got a bunch of cute presents, including a Barbie purse and accessories, a baby doll (that looks like Lena) with a blanket crocheted by Granny Joann, a picnic basket with toy food, candy, Disney movies, bubbles, and a paint book. The sweetest thing she got was her cupcake necklace that Landon got for her with his own money. We got her sand toys because Sam is building her a sandbox. I'm sure I'm forgetting a few things she got, so I apologize if I didn't list your gift.

We also went to the zoo last Friday for her birthday. We didn't get to do as much as usual due to construction at the zoo and me getting sore and needing to leave a little sooner than normal, but we still saw a lot and had a lot of fun.

Yesterday we spent the day at home, until Landon had to be taken to urgent care for a bee sting, which ended up with an EpiPen prescription, but that's another story.

I'm so proud of the little girl she is becoming, she is a great person to be around and sweet 99% of the time. Everything is "Pretty" and "Beautiful". She sees the best in everyone and everything, I hope she stays that way.












(Please excuse the sores on her nose, she had impetigo, which has since cleared up. But it never fails, someone always has something going on during a birthday or holiday.)
post signature

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

19 vs 27

At the age of 19, I became a Mommy for the first time. Almost 8 years later, at 27, I became a Mommy for the fourth time.

At 19, I was a good mother. My baby was happy and healthy. He had everything he needed. However, looking back, I was not the best mother I could have been to him. I could have had more patience. I could have spent more time with him. I could have held him more. I could have snuggled him more. I could have done more research on safety for babies instead of following older advice from well meaning friends and relatives. I could have rear faced him longer, I could have pumped a little longer, I could have done so many things that I do now.

But I didn't. I didn't know any better. I was naive. I was young. And I wasn't confident in my parenting choices and decisions at that time, and so I listened and followed what other people said I should be doing and I did what they said.

Now, at 27, I am still a good mother. My kids are still happy and healthy. They still have everything they need. But now, I can say, I am the best mother I can be. Getting up at night with Lena, I have noticed I have a lot more patience than I ever did with Landon. It is easier to give all of myself to my kids now than it was when I was younger. I am also very confident in my parenting choices now. I have learned to research and follow my own instincts instead of doing what everyone else thinks I should do.

Am I saying that teen mothers are any less or any worse than average aged mothers? No. As I said, I was still a good mother. Landon is happy, healthy, and smart. I wouldn't even go back and change anything. I'm glad I was a teen mom, I'm glad we had Landon and I wouldn't change him for the world. I'm glad he is who he is, and I'm proud of the young man he is becoming.

Do I wish I would have had him when I was older? No, not really. If I would have waited to have him, he wouldn't be him, and like I said, I wouldn't trade him for the world.

Does that mean I love him any less than I do her? Absolutely not. I love all of my kids. But as the saying goes, "When you know better, you do better."



*This is not to say that teen mothers or young mothers can't be as good of mothers as older mothers. Who knows, maybe when I am 35, I will be writing again saying that I am an even better mother then than I am now. In fact, I hope I do, I hope I keep getting better and better, my kids deserve the best mother in the world.*




post signature

Monday, June 2, 2014

A Grand Entrance

Lena Sue
On May 22, at 8:11 am, Lena Sue arrived via repeat c-section. She weighed 8 pounds, 11 ounces and was 20 inches long. She is perfect in every way.




The entire week before she came, I had been having contractions. I didn't think I would make it to my section date, but I did. We arrived at the hospital around 5 am, and I was contracting every 2-4 minutes. While I had a c-section, Lena still chose that day for her birth regardless. 

My surgery was scheduled for 7:30 am, so during the 2 and a half hours, they took my history, started an IV, and gave me a few meds. 


At about quarter to 8, we headed into the OR.


During my spinal, the power went out in the hospital. So they had to stop and wait. Which meant when the power came back on, they had to start again. Ouch.

Surgery went great, no pain during, and minimal after. I had to go down to the PACU after, because of the power outage, instead of being able to recover on the birthing floor. But, and here is the great part, even though I had to leave to recover, Lena was able to go straight to our mother/baby room with Sam. She never left to go to the nursery after birth. I was in recovery for maybe 20 minutes or so, then brought up to our room, where she was able to breastfeed and we were able to bond and get to know each other.



They also didn't give her a bath, giving us time to bond, and let her vernix absorb in a little better, until she was about 8 hours old. At that time, they did take her to the nursery to give her a bath and to do her hearing test (she passed). Other than that, the only time she left our room was when she went walking in the hallway with us and when we left to go home. 




The older kids came soon after she was born to meet her. Seeing all four of my kids together melted my heart.






We came home on Saturday the 24, and Lena has been fitting in like she has belonged here all along. Which I guess she did.

post signature

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Week 36

Baby day is soon upon us. I cannot wait to have it over with and be holding my beautiful daughter in my arms instead of in my body. I am exhausted, sore, achy, grouchy, and hungry all the time. I'm ready to have my body back, be able to sleep on my stomach again, be able to sit on the floor and be able to get up easily, hold my other kids in my lap, walk with no pain, and be able to breathe freely again. But most of all, I'm ready to look into her face and see who she looks like. Her brothers? Her sister? Me? Her dad? Or just Lena?

I still have a lot to do before she comes. Truthfully, I haven't really done anything to prepare for her yet. I still need to bring down the clothes and wash them and put them away. I need to bring out the baby gear and clean it and set it up. I need to finish all my deep cleaning so we don't have to worry about too much cleaning after she comes. I need to pack her bag for the hospital, along with my own. We need her car seat installed yet. I do have her diapers ready to go, so that's at least something. I have no fear, I know when she comes, everything will be ready for her. In fact, the same thing happened before I had Alta, because my mom was staying with us in her room until 10 days before she came, and everything was ready by the time it needed to be.

The other kids and I have had the tummy bug that is going around. It was awful. I'll spare the details, but it was not something I would like to ever see again. The week before the tummy bug hit, we all had spring colds. Hopefully, we have gotten over the sickness and everyone will be healthy now for a while.

We had a 4D ultrasound done with Lena, just like we have with all the other kids, and she gave us some pretty good shots, including a smiling one. She also has a lot of hair. The color is to be determined, all the other kids had different color hair at birth. Landon's was white blonde, Parker's was brown, Alta's was reddish blonde. I had black hair, Sam had blonde. We will see what color her's is soon.




And finally, her home for the time being.




post signature

Friday, March 28, 2014

The Most Asked Question Regarding My Pregnancy.

With blogging, Facebook, and other social sites, parenting is a hot topic between moms and moms-to-be. The questions of breast vs bottle, intact vs circumcision, vaccinate or not, often come up. I've been asked, and have partaken in several discussions about different parenting topics. And yes, of course, I have my own views on each and every one, even if those views are "why does everyone obsess over everyone else's baby's foreskin, or lack of thereof?"

Either way, yes I am a fairly "crunchy" mom. I breast feed as much as I can (which usually isn't much), I cloth diaper, I babywear, I make my own baby food, I homeschool, I encourage my kids to get filthy playing in the dirt, I try not to medicate, and the list goes on. Most people know this about me. So when they find out that I am having a repeat c-section instead of a vaginal birth after (2) c-sections (VBA2C), their eyes bug out.

I am going to set the record straight on why I chose c-sections over VBACs.

First I should say, I trust my doctor. He has delivered each one of my babies, his family shares the same views on life as our family does. The other thing is, I am also a nurse, a full fledged RN. I know the risks and benefits of RCS and VBACs, I did my studying. I know that uterine rupture is very rare.

But I'm not scared of a uterine rupture. I'm scared of a dead baby.

You see, it hasn't always been a section for me. My first pregnancy was a vaginal delivery.

Landon was due August 2, 2006. My pregnancy with him was so very easy. No problems at all. My due date came and went. Almost a week went by with no sign of labor. Sam was working midnights, so we decided I would go stay with my mom during the nights so I would not be alone, plus she was 30 minutes closer to the hospital.

August 6 came along. Sam left for work, and I had just laid down to go to sleep, when all of a sudden I went from having no contractions to having a bad one. Yay! Labor! Let's get this show on the road. I got up, took a bath to see if they quit. Nope. Instead, I went walking up and down Mom's hallway. She also woke up and stayed up with me, timing my contractions. They went from roughly every 10 minutes to every 5 within 2 hours. I remember thinking, Man, this is going to go fast!

Sam came home about 3 that morning, and off to the hospital we went.

They hooked me up, checked us in, checked my dilation and I was 2 cm. 2! What? I was sure I would be pushing. Contractions were strong and every 3-5 minutes. So they kept us a few hours while we walked and walked and walked. I got checked again. Still 2 cm. Back home we went.

Monday went by in agony. Tuesday came and the contractions were stronger than ever and back to back. We knew it was it, back to the hospital we go.

Three measly centimeters. But I had effaced and my contractions were back to back, as seen on the monitor and my demeanor, my doctor kept me so I could get Nubain and hopefully get enough relief to relax and take a nap. When they checked me again I was at a 4, so I was officially in labor and would leave with a bouncing baby boy in a few days.

Wrong.

Instead I labored forever. It was terrible. My contractions were on top of one another. The nurses would come in to check me, sure I would be in transition because I was contracting like transition, puking, shaking, the whole nine yards. We walked miles those few days. Baby after baby was born, except ours. Wednesday afternoon or evening, I can't remember, my water broke, and  I finally conceded to an epidural. I was exhausted. I needed a break. I will still only a 5 cm. This entire time, Landon was looking fantastic on the monitors.

After the epidural, I was able to sleep. At some point, I started running a fever, so I needed antibiotics. But still Landon looked great.

Thursday came. Around 1:20 in the afternoon, I was at a 9. The nurse came in, she said Landon wasn't looking so well on the monitors anymore and I needed to push past that last centimeter. Nothing to be alarmed about, he just needed to be out soon.

Roughly 2:50 my OB ran in saying that Landon had to be out now, he was not doing well and they had the NICU on standby. And so I pushed like there were no tomorrow. Landon's monitor was going off super loudly in my ear.

At this point, my mom, who was sitting next to the warmer, said my OB nodded at one of the nurses, and she pressed a red button on the wall.

At 3:04 pm, my OB used the vacuum and out came a baby. And in came a million other people. That red button was to send the NICU team in to resuscitate Landon. I remember screaming "What's wrong? What's wrong with my baby?" over and over, and every lying to me telling me he was perfectly fine and would be over with me in a minute. But I knew something was wrong. I knew that babies didn't have their own NICU team of doctors and nurses. And I also knew babies were pink and crying when they were on that warming table. Landon was neither. He was grey. And making a sound I will never forget. It was the sound of a baby struggling to not die. A baby with no heart beat trying to breath. It was like a gasp crossed with a sick puppy. A sound that no baby should make and no mother should hear.

Around 9 that night, I was finally able to go see him in the NICU. I wasn't sure what he would look like, the nurse told me he had wires and was on the ventilator, so I wouldn't be surprised. In reality, there is no preparation to seeing your baby lying on a table with a ventilator, IVs, wires, feeding tubes, monitors. None. He even got his own little room, secluded from the other babies and families. Which at the time, I thought was so cool, we had privacy and more room than most other babies. Now I know he needed that room in case the worst happened, we would need that room and privacy more than the other babies did. Now I know those little rooms are reserved for the sickest babies, the ones who may not go home.

But he was a fighter, and on August 15, we were able to "room in" with him in the pediatric department (mother baby was full and we needed a smaller nurse to patient ratio). Since rooming in went well, and he took all of his feedings with no struggle, we were able to leave the NICU on August 16 with a happy, healthy baby. He is truly a miracle.

Two years later, we were back having Parker. I was induced 5 days after my due date, and after 24 hours of labor and finally getting to push, Parker's heart rate started dropping, he wasn't descending, and it seemed to be a repeat of Landon's labor. Instead of taking the chance, I had an emergency c-section, under general anesthesia. The good news is, he was a healthy man, and was able to come home with us two nights later.

Two years after that, I decided to VBAC with Alta, or at least try it. At 36 weeks I had an ultrasound that found she was a footling breech with a short cord and low lying anterior placenta, so no version (turning baby head down from the outside) could happen. At 39w 4d, I had a repeat section and for the first time, I got to hear the beautiful cry of my newborn.

Now two, almost 3 years later, I had the same choice. VBAC or RCS. For me, personally, I can't choose VBAC. I feel that a RCS is the only way for me to have a safe delivery of my baby. And in the end, that is all that matters. Does having a section suck? Yep. But so does having a vaginal delivery. In fact, I healed quicker and had less pain from Alta's section than I did with Landon's vaginal birth.

There it is, my reasons for having a c-section over a vaginal birth. This is my choice. I'm not saying it is the correct choice for everyone. In fact, I think a VBAC is an awesome choice, and if things were different in my birth history, I would choose to VBAC.  I think that if you are low risk, and your previous c-section was unnecessary, a VBAC is the best choice for you. I also think that more OBs should move toward the VBAC movement. I think c-sections are done far too often. But remember when you are judging me for going straight to a RCS, and not considering a VBAC, that not all sections are unnecessary, mine were not.

After all, we all want a healthy baby in the end.



post signature

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Updates on Us


It's been a while. To be honest, I've been in a winter funk. We've had, like many, a long hard winter. Most of my time has been spent keeping the house warm.

But I think I can finally say it is spring. In all its windy glory today. Our chickens started laying eggs again last week. They haven't laid since October, so finding 6 eggs was a welcome surprise.

As for the kids, they are great. Homeschooling is going well, Landon is starting multiplication in math, Parker is starting addition and mastering his letter sounds in preparation for kindergarten next year. Alta, at this point, is still along for the ride. We purchased our new curriculum for next year. We chose to keep on with Abeka for everything for Landon except science, we went with Apologia instead. The boys chose Astronomy this year. They are very much enjoying it. Parker is also starting with the full Abeka kindergarten curriculum next year. And Alta will be starting "pre-k", mainly learning the shapes, colors, numbers, and letters that she doesn't already know. By then we will have another little girl along for the ride. It is amazing how fast they grow.



Speaking of the new little girl, she has a name now. She will be called Lena Sue, after my great grandma, and my mom. I am 32 weeks pregnant tomorrow. Almost there! She moves constantly, much more than any of the other kids. My OB and his NP have both commented on how much she moves as well when they try to find her heartbeat on the doppler. We should find out in the next few weeks when her birthday will be. We are trying to finish up getting ready for her. I've found by number 4, and the second girl in a row, there isn't much to get. We did get her a new car seat, an amber necklace, and a few more cloth diapers, but other than that, we haven't gotten her anything. Everything else we have, or we have learned we do not need. I have been slacking on getting her clothes out and washing and putting them away. We also need to put the newborn bassinet and sleeper in the pack and play, but Alta still uses it every so often when she comes into our room in the middle of the night, so I am waiting until the last minute to do that. I guess by the fourth baby, you realize things don't matter as much as they did with the first. And putting things out well before the baby comes means the other kids will make it grubby and it will need washed again, so may as well leave it for the last minute.

Alta is in the process of attempting potty training. She sometimes does very well, sometimes not so well. I'm not rushing her because she will get it when she gets it. Just like the boys did.  But it would be nice if she was trained by the time Lena gets here.

The boys are growing, especially Landon. I only see small glimpses of little boy left in him. He is officially a big boy. Running, helping, and asking questions we aren't quite ready to answer. He is a great help around the house, and is constantly wanting to know more about everything we do. He reads chapter books, showers by himself, makes his own snacks for himself, and sometimes even his brother and sister. I'm not ready for him to grow up, but I'm glad he is turning into a nice young man.

Parker, he is still a little boy. Still full of giggles and snuggles. He has the biggest imagination in the world. He still needs me to dry him off after a bath, he still likes to cuddle, he still needs me to pour him a glass of milk. But soon, too soon, he won't.  And I'll have two big boys.

The other thing that has happened in our little world, is Spicy our cat, had an unexpected litter of four little kittens. She's not much more than a kitten herself, not being one until May, but she's being a pretty good mommy cat. The kittens were born March 12, and are starting to toddle and play. They are adorable. The kids absolutely love them. I am hoping we will find them good homes, then Spicy is getting fixed, and that will be the end of kittens at our house.


post signature